Minor Arcana – Everyday Living in the 2-3-4 of Wands

Four of Wands

Here at the beginning of Spring, as we roll through Aries season, we get an opportunity to work with the 2, 3, and 4 of Wands. Many groups have associated Tarot and Astrology. One school of thinking connects the Minor Arcana with the decans of the signs. The Decans are 3 divisions within each astrological sign based on the degrees; Decan 1 is 1º-10º, Decan 2 is 11º-20º, and Decan 3 is 21º-30º (For more information, check out Austin Coppock.)

In Tarot, the suit of Wands is often considered to be the suit of Fire. This suit is where we take a look at issues around our ego, character, and drive. This is where our passion and lust comes through. And we also face our anger here. We look at the roles we play in our lives. This is also the suit that addresses our Will, and what we came here to do in this lifetime. From Ace through 10, we ask ourselves, “Am I going to be a bartender, or a firefighter, or a ballet dancer, or a hobo…?” and we try on a bunch of hats and ways of living. But from Page to King, we ask ourselves, “Regardless of what I’m doing, what am I Doing with my life? What is the point to all of this? What is my trail I need to blaze?”

As we move through the Wands, we will encounter Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, the three Fire signs of the zodiac. The Aces of the suits are thought to represent the elemental powers themselves. Aries is the first Fire sign, and so its decans are assigned to the 2, 3, and 4 of the suit…

Want more?
Subscribe to my Patreon and join us for Tarot Circle!
Learn Tarot
Book a Reading
And subscribe to my newsletter!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.